Time is running out to put forward exceptional members of the community for this year’s
Western Australian of the Year Awards, with nominations closing on Friday, February 26.

The 2021 Awards will be particularly special, celebrating the achievements of Western
Australians over the past two years and raising the calibre of the Awards even higher.

Celebrate WA was forced to cancel the 2020 celebrations in order to play their part in the
fight against COVID-19, but the Board is confident the 2021 Awards will take place, with final decisions on the nature of the Awards ceremony to be made in line with the most up to date advice from the State Government.

In the period since the 2019 Awards many Western Australians have performed inspirational work both at home and abroad, with the Awards set to recognise the State’s ‘best of the best’.

Celebrate WA Chair, Michael Anghie, said he looked forward to Western Australians naming
worthy peers for the Awards, given the unique challenges of the past 12 months.

“There are many Western Australians who have gone above and beyond over the past two
years, and their success should be celebrated by us all. The recognition of these individuals
is vital, as they inspire the younger generation of Western Australians to continue achieving
great things for our wonderful State. Given the difficult year many have had, it is particularly uplifting to hear about the selfless, hardworking and dedicated people right here in Western Australia, and I look forward to hearing their stories told in 2021,” Mr Anghie said.


The simple online nominations process only takes between 5-10 minutes to complete and
can be filled in at www.waday.com. Participants are required to select the relevant Award
category, identify the individuals’ achievements and why they deserve to be crowned
Western Australian of the Year.

To be considered for the esteemed acknowledgment the entrant must have either been born in Western Australia, or now call the State their home.

Western Australians can either self-nominate or complete the online form on behalf of
another person carrying out astonishing work in their elected field of expertise or acting as
an inspirational role model to others.

The seven Award categories include:
• Aboriginal Award
• Arts & Culture Award
• Business Award
• Community Award
• Professions Award
• Sport Award
• Youth Award

The finalists for the seven categories will be revealed on April 17, and winners will be
announced on the evening of Friday, June 4 at a Gala Dinner to mark the beginning of
the WA Day Weekend. The overall winner will then be presented as the 2021 Western
Australian of the Year.

The WA Day celebrations and events are proudly supported by BHP, Government of
Western Australia and Lotterywest.